Che’s Advice

I guess what Che said to me yesterday about controlling my class really made more of an impact on me than I thought. While I didn’t bust out the smacking yardstick or the non-stop yelling, I did crack down more on people popping out of their seats (threatening them with 5 points off their next test proved rather effective) during group work.

I also re-organized the groups. Previously, I’d tried to vary the abilities within a group, but what ended up happening was that the slackers not only slacked, but also annoyed the hell out of the workhorses. This time I grouped workers with workers, slackers with slackers. Astonishingly, everyone actually worked. Perhaps the slackers were shy to not hand in any work at all, wheras when they’re in a group with real students they can hide behind the other kids’ work.

Whatever the case, today was much better, and tomorrow we get to see the sequel to Nueba Yol.

Leave a Reply

