I want my $10 back

I love going to the movies when it's beautiful out, which I did after teaching my last class today. The few other moviegoers at the Film Forum screening of Roman Polanski's Repulsion seemed delightfully asocial, which was just the tonic I needed after a day of job-mandated extrovertedness.

Sadly, my joy was dismembered, raped, and left to draw flies in the living room by this horribly pompous, dull exercise. God forbid Polanski should deign to include a smidge of dialogue while we watch Catherine Deneuve go stark raving mad! There seems to be no explanation for her deterioration except that she's sexually repressed, an especially creepy thought when we remember that it comes from the mind of Roman "if there's grass on the field play ball" Polanski.

I suffered through Repulsion for an hour and a half. When I could take no more, I did something I've only done twice (The Cook, the Thief, His Wife and Her Lover and Charlie's Angels): I ditched. 

Now I need a drink, a shower, and a good night's sleep. 

2 thoughts on “I want my $10 back

  1. From Bryan Curtis’ Slate Article, Roman’s Holiday: Where has Roman Polanski been hiding?

    In 1977, Polanski would run again. Claiming to be working on a photography assignment for Vogue Homme, he lured a 13-year-old girl to his friend Jack Nicholson’s house and then, by his own admission, had sex with her. Rather than face prison time, he fled Hollywood for Paris, where he wasn’t subject to American extradition laws. (Ever contrite, Polanski then began dating Nastassja Kinski, 15.) In a perverse way, his flight from justice might have made his subsequent films even sharper—if Polanski had been channeling his own feelings of alienation before, he had now upped the ante by becoming a sex criminal.

Leave a Reply

