Factotum

factotum.gif

While I admit to being unfamiliar with the source material (Charles Bukowski’s novel Factotum), or with the meaning of the title for that matter (I thought it might be a vestigial organ that you only learn of when it becomes inflamed, but the opening credits helpfully provide the actual definition: someone who does a lot of different jobs. [And might I suggest a title that would not have to be defined onscreen? “Drunk Jackass.”] ), I think it’s an example of literature that dies on the screen.

The good acting held my interest for patches here and there, but for the most part I wanted to follow Matt Dillon’s character’s lead, ditch the dull factory job flick halfway through and get a cocktail.

Leave a Reply

