Poetry Dips


I love the bible dips Augusten Burroughs describes in “Running with Scissors”:

“All the Finches did bible-dips. It was like asking a Magic Eight Ball a question, only you were asking God. The way it worked was, one person held the bible while another person thought of a question to ask God, like, ‘Should I get my hair cut short?’ Then the person holding the bible opened it at random, and the person asking the question dropped his or her finger on the page. Whatever word your finger landed on, this was your answer.”

As an agnostic, I prefer other texts. This morning I will use a book of Emily Dickinson’s poems. I land on the word “confronting.” Maybe I need to ask a different question.

Leave a Reply

