Criticism and Growth

Dealing with criticism has never been my strong suit, especially when it is not constructive criticism. When it is specific, criticism can be helpful. But when it is vague and dismissive, it can do great damage.

For me, it is hard to get back in the saddle when I receive the latter kind of criticism.  It helps to have a physical cue to help me get back to work – I like to brush imaginary dust off my shoulder as if to say “I will brush that off and move on.”

And I might use some of the anger I feel about the whole situation to embrace go forth and resolve to show my critics they were wrong.

Leave a Reply

