Limits

It sometimes amazes me how many self-imposed limits I have. Even though I grew up in New York City, I never considered the possibility that I might be able to earn a living in a creative field.  Creative work was something other people did.

It’s only within the last few years, as I’ve become more aware of the one-way arrow that is time, that I’ve sought opportunities to try things like jewelry design and improv.

It continues to be fun to explore beyond the limits I once set, but it can also be a little dizzying to think about all the options. On the other hand, I do know myself a lot better now than I did when I was first out of school and making life-altering decisions. I know there are certain creature comforts I am unhappy without. And there are certain fears that I still lovingly hold dear.

May I always and forever be too scared of needles to try intravenous drugs or to get a tattoo. And may I always have the luxury of the occasional bubble bath.

Leave a Reply

