Trapped in a Virtue

I have a reputation for being good at setting boundaries, but the truth is that they are not quite enough for me. I am good at the short-term boundary. At the low “I need to take a walk,” type of fence.

But I could use some work on giving myself some real time to work on things that matter to me. When I take time for creative work, I often grow anxious that I am neglecting something more “important,” like doing the laundry or making dinner. Or that I am missing out on time with friends or family, and that they will decide they are better off without me.

I need to keep in mind that even if that happens, it is more important for my well-being to make the space for creative solitude than to force myself to socialize because I feel it is what I should do.

Leave a Reply

