Luxury

It’s easy to play the “if only I didn’t have to worry about money,” card when facing a creative block. I do it all the time. In reality, I most often face these blocks when I have tried to be too virtuous, working too hard for too long without a break. And without taking time out for what I might consider luxurious.

I really relate to these lines from Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way:
“When we put a stopper on our capacity for joy by anorectically (sic) declining the small gifts of life, we turn aside the larger gifts as well…Those of us who have stymied the work flow completely will find ourselves in lives that feel barren and devoid of interest no matter how many meaningless things we have filled them with.”

I try to make time for what I find luxurious: browsing in a shop, indulging in a trashy magazine while soaking in the tub, lunch out at a favorite not too pricy restaurant, and the occasional professional manicure or, most luxurious of all, a massage.

Now I think I need to go do up my nails in a fancy way.

Leave a Reply

