Creative Blocks

I think it’s really funny that there is actually a wine called “Creative Block,” because drinking wine used to be something I did to try to slip past the fear of doing creative work. Ultimately I realized it was not a great strategy for me, and so I’ve stopped doing that. But I still deal with blocks to my creativity.

In The Artist’s Way, Julia Cameron has a helpful set of questions to identify the root of a creative black and to tackle it:

1. List any resentments you have in connection with this project.
2. List any fears you have in connection with this project.
3. What do you stand to gain by NOT doing this work? (often it’s that you can criticize whoever DOES do the work)
4. Agree to focus on the quantity of work while not worrying about the quality while you are in the creation phase; that’s what editing is for.

Leave a Reply

