Physical Activity

Whenever I can I start my day with a three or four mile walk. Early in the morning, before my brain is awake enough to talk my body out of it, a walk of about an hour loosens my joints and gets my thoughts flowing in a way that sets me up to have a good day.

My walk is a city walk, but there is a stretch of it that takes me through a park, and even that little bit of time with dirt below and trees above calms the twitchy lizard part of my brain. Bonus points if it’s warm and sunny out.

It is humbling to realize how much my outlook on a given day is connected to my physical being, but it is also comforting to know I can do something every day to make myself feel better.

Leave a Reply

